"The Shirt"

The Presidential Mantle of Leadership

Wagar A. Glas, Club President in 1954-55, as a dedicated Rotarian attended several International Rotary Conventions. He brought back "The Shirt" from a Rotary International Conference in Hawaii.  He gave it to President Carl Gingles (1980-81), who passed it on to incoming President Russ Reister at the start of his 1981-82 term. Russ continued the new tradition by passing "The Shirt" to Dan Balbach when he took over in 1982.  Since then each President has carefully stored "The Mantle of Leadership" as they anxiously await the end of their reign so they can pass the shirt on to the next President. 

Ashish Sarkar gets a welcome hug from Immediate Past President Karen Kerry on July 1, 2015.








Karen Kerry smiles as she reaches her arms through the long sleeves, July 2, 2014. 


Maurita Holland modeled the shirt on July 3, 2013.








On June 27, 2012, President Len Stenger donned the special shirt.


 Nishta Bhatia, incoming president, accepts the shirt from outgoing president, Beth Fitzsimmons on June 29, 2011 






Right: Outgoing president Lou Callaway helps incoming Beth Fitzsimmons don the shirt in June 2010.





In June 2009, outgoing president Jim Cook passes the shirt to incoming president Lou Callaway




Jim Cook gives the thumbs up as incoming president, accepting the shirt from outgoing president, Al Burdi in June 2008